Close
Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 675reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff was awesome Feb 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by They are doing some remodeling, adding a spectacular oyster bar, so it's going to be even better.The SMOKED salmon fish and chips were outstanding, as was the cioppino. Both definitely do-overs.Gotta respect a family restaurant that can keep it going in the family for over 100 yrs. Jan 30, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by This historic restaurant has a wonderful nautical ambiance. A visit to Dan and Louey's should be a must on any tour of Portland. Jan 25, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Average food, limited menu Jan 13, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by I really liked that the oyster crackers were non-gmo. The oysters were very good (a little spendy but very good), the service was quick and the staff was friendly. The menu could use some expansion however. The oyster poboy we had was good but reminded us of fast food. It needed more of a lighter flavor as it was quite heavy which took away from the taste of the oysters in it. Overall we would give the place a 7.5 out of 10. The clam chowder was by far our favorite item that we had. Would liked to have seen a menu item that incorporated smoked oysters. Dec 19, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by We were directed to eat in the bar because there weren't enough people to use the dining room. I was cramped and cold by the window. I missed the ambiance of the dining room. My oyster stew was good as usual but my husband's fish sandwich was dry and had no seasoning. He does not want to go back there. We were not asked about beverages so we just drank the water and left. Dec 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Owners are terrific! They are friendly and accommodating. Holly is the bartender, and she makes the cocktails just as they should be. The food is delicious and for me, the clam chowder and crab stew are the best in Portland. I don't (yet) eat oysters,but according to other customers, they are loving them. Dec 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by I go to L&D's after work for a bite to eat and a cocktail. It's a cozy bar/restaurant, the bartenders are great and they have yummy food as well. Also, as a single woman, I feel very comfortable going to the bar at L&D's. I don't feel self conscious about being alone at this bar. Nov 28, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by We used to eat at Dan and Louis often while dating 45 years ago and through the years and remember the large crab salads with iceberg lettuce and chewy rolls. The restaurant is rich with memories for us. The crab salad was about the same size but only a tiny bit of crab, could hardly taste the crab. My husband ordered oyster stew with double portion of oysters. The stew was luke warm with 4 oysters in it. This has always been his favorite and reason to travel 50 miles to eat here, but he was disappointed. Nov 4, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Halibut was not available; was not told until it was ordered; settled for OK prawns. the color of the menu made reading it in the dim light almost impossible. the amount of the entrée seemed small for the price; the cod - calamari dish came with one finger shaped piece of fish and 6-8 small pieces of calamari. Prawns were big and good; the dinner salad was served on the plate with the prawns. Oct 24, 2015
  • 2016-02-07 T08:09:36.160-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_675, tr_675
  • loc_en_US, sid_43962, prod, sort_default
Minimum purchase of $20 at restaurant.

Dan and Louis Oyster Bar

208 SW Ankeny Street
Portland, OR 97204
Phone: (503) 227-5906
Cuisine: Seafood, Steak
Price: $$$$
Do you like this restaurant?

Dan and Louis Oyster Bar Reviews

Loading
Back to Top

© 2016 Restaurant.com All rights reserved.