Close
Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 849reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Our grandson (teenager) got the cowboy steak and ate every bite. All the food was delicious. Waitress did a great job. Jun 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great staff, food and service! Jun 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by great atmosphere and service was wonderful Jun 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by People were nice; food was pretty good Jun 8, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by There were two daily specials on the menu. One of them was no longer available, despite my having gone to dinner quite early. I ordered the other one and had the most disappointing dinner that I have had in a very long time. The salmon itself was excellent, but the meal was totally inadequate. The menu said it came with polenta and cucumber. Polenta has too many carbs for me so I changed that to asparagus, at the waitress's suggestion. What I got was a smallish portion of salmon, a small to normal side of asparagus, and virtually nothing else. The stated cucumber was just a few shavings on top of the fish for decorative purposes -- certainly not worthy of mention as part of the dinner. This was not a dinner fit for even a small woman, let alone a 200 pound man such as I.If I should ever get another inadequate dinner such as this at G. L. Shacks, I suspect that I shall find another restaurant to go to on a regular basis.All of my comments on prior meals at G. L. Shacks have been very complimentary -- particularly with regard to my happiness with the waitress. However, in this case, she was severely overworked and could not give me the good service that I had come to expect. I can only blame management for this because there is no way that she could handle as many people as there were. There seemed to have been one or two additional people attempting to help out, but I suspect that they had provided very minimal help. Even I had helped out by rearranging an empty large table that had not yet been cleared. I separated one of the three tables to accommodate the four of us.I hope that management can properly address these issues - particularly the one regarding the ridiculousness of the very small dinner that was provided. I virtually never get desert, very infrequently soup, and hardly ever an appetizer, but never have I come away from a dinner having been totally dissatisfied as I was on this last occasion.Incidentally, the dinner included my daughter (who never eats a lot), my two very young grandchildren that eat very little, and me. The price charged to my credit card was of course including the coupon for $25 plus tip. My meal was not at all inexpensive, but the other three meals were. Jun 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by The noise level was higher than usual and service was slower, due to a couple of large parties in the small dining area. This was unusual for a week night. Jun 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast and friendly. Nice vibe Jun 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleasantly surprised at the number of diners and quality of service since this was the first time we had eaten at G.L. Shack's on a Sunday evening. Very friendly, neighborhood dining that included diners from their mid-twenties through seniors like ourselves. Jun 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The food & service were great! Even though they were very busy, our food was ready within 10- 15 minutes of ordering. May 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's a nice neighborhood joint with an impressively extensive menu at impressively affordable prices-- even without the restaurant.com certificate. We highly recommend the cream of clam soup as a starter-- yum! May 17, 2015
  • 2015-07-05T13:49:24.779-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_849, tr_849
  • loc_en_US, sid_49079, prod, sort_default
Minimum purchase of $50. Dine In Only.
Minimum purchase of $20. Dine In Only.
Minimum purchase of $30. Dine In Only.

G.L. Shacks

583 Frederick Road
Catonsville, MD 21228
Phone: (410) 788-0879
Cuisine: American
Price: $
Do you like this restaurant?

G.L. Shacks Reviews

Loading
Back to Top

© 2015 Restaurant.com All rights reserved.