Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 72reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by The vibe and interior is nice but there music is too ghetto Sep 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall (i.e., food, service, décor) Sanai is the best restaurant in the Journal Square area. Located in the Newkirk House, the oldest building still standing in Jersey City (the lower half was built in 1690), Sanai's is named after the daughter of former LA Clipper Terry Dehere, the owner and homegrown star. The restaurant serves excellent "bar food", and the staff is always friendly. As Journal Square continues to transform (a 42-story building has been proposed for the lot next to Sanai's), the restaurant is well situated to benefit from the transformation. If Sanai's could upgrade its menu to something beyond bar food, it could become the premier location in Journal Square. Paid parking is available at the PATH station across the street, otherwise you'll be at the mercy of the street-parking gods (honestly, just save yourself the money and headache by taking the subway). Sep 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by The room was quite warm. Sep 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great food and service. Jul 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly, efficient and prompt staff, excellent food and atmosphere is rustic but accommodating! May 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Grace treated us very well. She checked on us several times to make sure our food was excellent. May 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by We have never had a bad experience w/Sanai and we've been going there at least once amonth. Feb 26, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by The restaurant was freezing cold, we had our coats on for the entire meal. The music was a radio station that was very loud and very inappropriate for dining, including radio ads. Jan 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Get the chipotle wings, my favorite Jan 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by appetizer - wings were great , the calamari we're ok but small , tasted a little frozendinner - steak was great and perfectly cook , the mashed potato was great and perfect portion ,the sliders were also perfectly cooked Jan 9, 2015
  • 2015-11-24 T07:58:05.994-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_72, tr_72
  • loc_en_US, sid_53655, prod, sort_default
Minimum purchase of $150.
Minimum purchase of $100.
Minimum purchase of $20.
Minimum purchase of $200.
Minimum purchase of $50.
Minimum purchase of $30.


510 Summit Ave
Jersey City, NJ 07306
Phone: (201) 795-9393
Cuisine: American
Price: $$
Do you like this restaurant?

Sanai's Reviews

Back to Top

© 2015 All rights reserved.