Close
Rated 4 out of 5 by 576reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by What a find! Friendly service, and great food in a decent décor. Dec 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Food was tasteless except guacamole Dec 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Food good. Prices a little high. No kids menu. Sangria good! Dec 1, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by The restaurant has a diner feel but the price of a full restaurant. The food was terrible. We had chicken burritos and they were all dripping with grease. They used shredded chicken and it did not taste fresh. We went to see a show after the meal and it sat like a load in my stomach all night. My son had the soft tocos. They were better in that they were fresher but the portion was small. The side of rice was hard like it was sitting under a heating lamp before it was served. The side of beans was soppy with juice. We go out to dinner at least once a week and this was the worst meal I have had in years.I would skip this place. Nov 24, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by We really wanted to enjoy the food but we did have several issues unfortunately. The appetizers showed promise and were good, but the entrees were off the chilli rellenos tasted microwaved and were cool inside, the rice was tough and again the temperature of the main dishes were so scattered. The dessert was awful the flan was bitter and inedible which the management agreed but the coffee was cold and the banana burritos were so buried in powdered cinnamon they could not be eaten. I feel that a place that has a reasonable menu size should be able to make the dishes fresh and consistant. For 24 dollars ONE PORK CHOP over a mountain of spicy mushy peppers onions was not acceptable. Even with the 100 off our meal we still spent 150 dollars and we were very unhappy with the meal the servers were very nice and I cant say anything about them but the management needs to really speak to the kitchen they are doing a disservice to them in a highly competative area to be serving such poor quality food. Nov 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good food, great server Nov 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Food was good, service was great. Playbill for "On The Town"also say has the best margharitas in town. What a dissapointment.The pitcher of margharitas was flat watery, not very flavorful. Nov 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The waiters were too efficient in trying to clear plates before we were finished. We did not like being rushed. But the food was great. Oct 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The waiter was very nice & polite and attentive to my needs. Everybody's taste buds are different so if you feel the chefs might not get it right for you the first time, ask the server a lot of questions about the portions of each ingredient, whether or not the chefs can replace all the meat with veggies or what you need more of to make the meal perfect, and most likely your needs will be accommodated within the listed price unless you ask for additional ingredients that will be extra charge. The portion was large enough for 3 meals so I wrapped the leftovers and took it home. In my opinion, the enchiladas tasted very different from those made by Mexican chefs in Texas and southern California. If you like something lighter than what you get in Texas or California, this place is probably for you but if you like the Tex-Mex taste, you might want to ask for additional cheese and green salsa and order guacamole and/or sour cream on the side. Oct 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by WE ALL HAD ONE OF THE SALAD'S WHICH WERE GOOD. BLACK BEAN SOUP - TASTELESS.WOULD RETURN BUT WILL REFRAIN FROM ORDERING SOUP AGAIN. Oct 23, 2014
1
1 2 3 4
Minimum purchase of $200.
Minimum purchase of $100.
Minimum purchase of $50.
Minimum purchase of $150.
Minimum purchase of $30.

This restaurant is great for…

Sombrero Mexican Restaurant

303 W 48th Street
New York, NY 10036
Phone: (212) 586-4853
Cuisine: Mexican/Southwestern
Price: $$

Do you like this restaurant?


Sombrero Mexican Restaurant Reviews

Loading
Back to Top

© 2014 Restaurant.com All rights reserved.