Close
Backwater Bar & Grille is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 455.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from We went on a Sunday about 1 p.m. The only person working besides the cook was the bartender and she had to cover the bar as well as all the tables. It took us 20 minutes just to get a drink and then over 45 more minutes to get our food order taken (and that was by the bartender's husband who was just a patron) and then another 30+ minutes to get the food. People who came in after us had their order taken before ours and they got their food first. Eventually an actual server came in but by then we had already been there over an hour and a half. Very disappointing. Have been there before and the service was better on those visits. Somebody dropped the ball on staffing for that day!
Date published: 2019-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband and I had the soup of the day- chicken orzo. It was delicious; full of flavor with big chunks of chicken and fresh cut veggies- truly food for the soul! I also had the lunch special of stuffed peppers which was a generous-sized stuffed pepper with a side of garlic toast. Everything was homemade and so flavorful. Our server was pleasant and very attentive to our needs. A wonderful lunch indeed!
Date published: 2019-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from As always, the food was absolutely delicious! Generous portions. Wait staff is Excellent.
Date published: 2018-10-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from dirty, food was poor quality, no water, no bread, poor atmosphere. not a good experience. cannot recommend and will not return.
Date published: 2018-09-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not elegant dining but a nice location. food was very good although it seemed like it was only lukewarm, not hot. Staff was friendly and courteous. Plenty of parking available. relaxing lakeside dining.
Date published: 2018-07-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great location - right on a quiet inlet (or outlet) of the lake. Very much off the beaten path. Great views of water either in or outside. Menu is extensive - usual pub/grille fare. Good food and plenty of it. Not too pricey. Been here many times and never found much to complain about.
Date published: 2018-06-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Food is good overall. Some items excellent. Wait staff is friendly and accommodating.
Date published: 2018-06-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Seemed the waitress wasn't happy we chose to sit outside or she was having a bad day. Not very pleasant.
Date published: 2018-06-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from We sat at one of the many outside tables. When we ordered wine, we also asked for water. We were brought wine in a plastic glass and two bottles of water. I asked for tap water like I had always gotten there, not bottled water, but was told in a rather rude manner that if I wanted water outside, it had to be bottled. The wine was in a plastic cup, so I asked why I couldn't have tap water in a plastic cup. "I can bring you a plastic cup, but it'll still be bottled water," she said. We were charged $2 per bottle. The nearby local grocery store sells the exact same brand of bottled water for $3.33/24 bottles, or $.14 per bottle. Because of this greedy policy and the server's rude attitude, we will no longer eat here. If they are having water problems, they should give the water free. Even charging $.50/bottle they would be making an obscene profit, but $2.00/bottle? This ruined our dinner experience there.
Date published: 2018-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The ride there was gorgeous and not far from the hilltop orchards winery. The old fashioned antique atmosphere is very relaxing and it is right ON The edge of the lake.service was excellent and waitress was lovely to converse with.
Date published: 2018-05-03
  • y_2019, m_6, d_17, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_268, tr_187
  • loc_en_US, sid_52966, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_restaurantcom
Minimum purchase of $20 at restaurant.

Backwater Bar & Grille

42 Queechy Lake Dr
Canaan, NY 12029
Phone: (518) 781-0199
Cuisine: American
Price: $$
Do you like this restaurant?

Backwater Bar & Grille Reviews

Loading
Back to Top
Have a question or want to order by phone? CALL US AT 855.832.8728 Monday thru Friday, 8:30am - 5pm CT or search our FAQ's