Close
Backwater Bar & Grille is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 436.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from As always, the food was absolutely delicious! Generous portions. Wait staff is Excellent.
Date published: 2018-10-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from dirty, food was poor quality, no water, no bread, poor atmosphere. not a good experience. cannot recommend and will not return.
Date published: 2018-09-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not elegant dining but a nice location. food was very good although it seemed like it was only lukewarm, not hot. Staff was friendly and courteous. Plenty of parking available. relaxing lakeside dining.
Date published: 2018-07-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great location - right on a quiet inlet (or outlet) of the lake. Very much off the beaten path. Great views of water either in or outside. Menu is extensive - usual pub/grille fare. Good food and plenty of it. Not too pricey. Been here many times and never found much to complain about.
Date published: 2018-06-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Food is good overall. Some items excellent. Wait staff is friendly and accommodating.
Date published: 2018-06-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Seemed the waitress wasn't happy we chose to sit outside or she was having a bad day. Not very pleasant.
Date published: 2018-06-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from We sat at one of the many outside tables. When we ordered wine, we also asked for water. We were brought wine in a plastic glass and two bottles of water. I asked for tap water like I had always gotten there, not bottled water, but was told in a rather rude manner that if I wanted water outside, it had to be bottled. The wine was in a plastic cup, so I asked why I couldn't have tap water in a plastic cup. "I can bring you a plastic cup, but it'll still be bottled water," she said. We were charged $2 per bottle. The nearby local grocery store sells the exact same brand of bottled water for $3.33/24 bottles, or $.14 per bottle. Because of this greedy policy and the server's rude attitude, we will no longer eat here. If they are having water problems, they should give the water free. Even charging $.50/bottle they would be making an obscene profit, but $2.00/bottle? This ruined our dinner experience there.
Date published: 2018-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The ride there was gorgeous and not far from the hilltop orchards winery. The old fashioned antique atmosphere is very relaxing and it is right ON The edge of the lake.service was excellent and waitress was lovely to converse with.
Date published: 2018-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We had a group of about 40 people. We had one waitress and she did a great job. We got all our food quickly and at the same time. I wish I remembered her name but we were all impressed. The food was great ??too.
Date published: 2018-05-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The food was excellent. The building was old with uneven floors but very clean and well cared for.
Date published: 2018-04-16
  • y_2018, m_11, d_15, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_251, tr_185
  • loc_en_US, sid_52966, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_restaurantcom
Minimum purchase of $20 at restaurant.

Backwater Bar & Grille

42 Queechy Lake Dr
Canaan, NY 12029
Phone: (518) 781-0199
Cuisine: American
Price: $$
Do you like this restaurant?

Backwater Bar & Grille Reviews

Loading
Back to Top
Have a question or want to order by phone? CALL US AT 855.832.8728 Monday thru Friday, 8:30am - 5pm CT or search our FAQ's