Close
Cala Bella Shingle Creek is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 443.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from For the price, nothing extraordinary. Over salted. Gnat flying around the table and finally landed in my food.
Date published: 2017-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Our waiter Ryan was terrific. The food was good.
Date published: 2017-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect upscale dinning experience
Date published: 2017-11-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Dinner started with a basket of bread and a bowl of olive oil with balsamic vinegar. The bread was just okay but not special and certainly not inspired by Italian baking. A deep bowl of oil and vinegar is not how oil should be served with your bread. You can only dip into the bowl - eating with friends, do you double dip?We chose two appetizers. The Pescara Mussels and the Grilled Octopus & Warm Potato Salad. Having been to Pescara, Italy and eaten a load of mussels there, I expected small mussels. The ones served were 2” to 3" in length. In my experience, somethings do not benefit by being bigger and mussels fit that example. I sent this dish back. When listing ingredients on packaged items, the ingredient that makes up the majority of the finished product is listed first. This being the standard than this salad should have been called Olive Salad with Potatoes and slightly warm Grilled Octopus. While the octopus was tender and delicious, the quantity of olives and capers overpowered the more delicate flavors. I would strongly recommend increasing the potatoes and reducing the olives. As an additional note, make sure the octopus is warm all the way through. Cold centers do not do the dish any good or add high ratings for the chef in charge.For our entrees we went with Shrimp Genova and Osso Buco con Gremolata. We had read reports that stated the risotto in this restaurant was subpar so we asked to speak to the chef. The chef assured us the bad reviews came from a special dinner and that he would make our risotto to order so it would be perfect. Somehow we were not all that surprised to find the chef had overestimated the kitchen’s ability to produce a creamy and flavorful risotto that was al dente. As for the Shrimp Genova (I am a Genova native and I am very perplexed as nothing like this would ever be served), the buttery sauce overpowered the rest of the dish. The Osso Buco con Gremolata was void of the Gremolata which is used to cut the richness of the dish. Additionally, the sauce was heavy on the tomato. The sauce would have worked with boar rather than veal.We saw the desserts and chose to give them a pass.Our server, Jacob, was pleasant but knew nothing about the food he was serving us. The restaurant was nearly empty, a total of eight diners including us and cold. The dark brown drapes may have helped with the acoustics when the restaurant got crowded but gave the place a dated and Spanish old fashioned appearance. The chairs with hard backs and arms were uncomfortable and could not be pulled in to the table.Overall we were not impressed by all the chances for a great meal that were misses making the dining experience just fair.
Date published: 2017-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING SERVICE AND FOOD!!! VERY NICE AND GREAT CHEFS!!!
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I loved that the restaurant was quiet. Jay our server was exemplary in his knowledge of the menu and made suggestions for us. The food was delicious.
Date published: 2017-09-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The service was terrible when you're willing to pay more than $100 for a meal for 2. There are 2 servers per table which I find it VERY inconvenient, when one server is attentive and the other chooses not to be. To summarize, it SHOULD NOT take more than 20mins to get butter for bread. As for the food, my chicken parmesan was less than par. Spaghetti was bland... chicken was dry and not enough parmesan or sauce on the chicken. I usually order chicken parmesan at most Italian restaurants I dine at; therefore, I'm quite certain I'd know what's consider good. Bottom line, it was disappointing.
Date published: 2017-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The food was unique and really delicious
Date published: 2017-09-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The service really is excellent. The host and the waiter and the staff to go very good job. Appetizers were pretty good. Flatbread, minestrone, and Cesar salad all good. The entrées left a little to be desired. Lamb chops very good. We felt the chicken Parmagiana was less than average, but we live in an area where great Italian food is everywhere. The overall meal was very good and a pleasant experience.
Date published: 2017-08-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from For a fine dinning restaurant it was the little things that were missing. Plates being taken away before everyone had finished eating. Having to ask for a knife, food being dry, Staff were friendly but need more training.
Date published: 2017-08-31
  • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_217, tr_226
  • loc_en_US, sid_31773, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_restaurantcom
Minimum purchase of $200 at restaurant.
Minimum purchase of $150 at restaurant.
Minimum purchase of $50 at restaurant.
Minimum purchase of $100 at restaurant.

Cala Bella Shingle Creek

9939 Universal Blvd.
Orlando, FL 32819
Phone: (407) 996-3663
Cuisine: Italian, Mediterranean
Price: $$$$
Do you like this restaurant?

Cala Bella Shingle Creek Reviews

Loading
Back to Top
Have a question or want to order by phone? CALL US AT 855.832.8728 Monday thru Friday, 8:30am - 5pm CT or search our FAQ's