Close
Centaur Bar is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 164.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2016-10-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2016-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great food and drinks; thanks PJ!
Date published: 2016-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The server/bar tender made the Happy Hour experience to not forget
Date published: 2016-09-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from still waiting to hear back from management. I left a voice mail as when you call restaurant no one ever picks up. I was overcharged for our desserts. The quality was dry and very small. I speculate they ran out of the brownies and tried to make 2 desserts out of one brownie. I'll gladly change this review once my situation is resolved with a refund.
Date published: 2016-08-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Ordered brownie bites. They were literally 1" square! Cost $7. We got order to go. If I would have noticed the ridiculous small size, I would have sent it back. We ordered 2 to go. $15 for 10 bites that maybe equaled one real brownie. Dry and not even moist. I'd like management to refund my credit card. If so, I will not share my experience with others when we talk about where to go downtown. Very unhappy right now.
Date published: 2016-08-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2016-08-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2016-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The service and food were excellent. It was a great experience. The PEACH Bellini Martini is the best ever
Date published: 2016-05-29
  • y_2017, m_4, d_24, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_87, tr_77
  • loc_en_US, sid_21397, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_restaurantcom
Minimum purchase of $20 at restaurant.
Minimum purchase of $10 at restaurant.

Centaur Bar

2233 Park Avenue
Detroit, MI 48201
Phone: (313) 963-4040
Cuisine: Tapas
Price: $

Get Directions:


Start Address:
Please enter a starting address.
End Address:
Please enter an ending address.

Map:

  • Hours
    Monday: 4:00 PM - 2:00 AM
    Tuesday: 4:00 PM - 2:00 AM
    Wednesday: 4:00 PM - 2:00 AM
    Thursday: 4:00 PM - 2:00 AM
    Friday: 4:00 PM - 2:00 AM
    Saturday: 4:00 PM - 2:00 AM
    Sunday: 4:00 PM - 2:00 AM
  • Meal Times Served Late Night
  • Atmosphere Bar Scene
  • Amenities Billiards / Pool
  • Bar Full Bar, Beer, Wines
  • Reservation Information Not Required
  • Parking Availability Valet, Street
  • Attire Casual
  • Payment Methods Amex Mastercard Visa

Highlights

If you paid attention in high school, you'd know that centaurs were wild, mythical creatures that ran amuck in Greece getting drunk off wine and eating raw flesh.

Thanks to centuries of progress and the Detroit bar scene, a Centaur is no longer a half-man, half-horse, but a hot bar. And although wine is still a staple for Centaur, so is the wide array of delicious appetizers, so leave your raw flesh at home.

"We really are an alternative to your standard nightclub, in our look, in our standard and in our vibe," said Sean Harrington, owner of Centaur since its birth in 2005. He's right. Centaur is a sexy date place and a welcomed change from the ordinary.

Located downtown, Centaur is one block away from the Fox Theatre, Ford Field and Comerica Park. But the location is the only thing in common with neighboring sporty destinations. This is not a sports bar.

As for food, Centaur doesn't serve large plates, but small tapas-style entrees instead. Order one at a time as you sample each martini, or order them all at once and share with a date. Centaur will do it, and they will do it any time you come in.

by Liz Dueweke
Real Detroit Weekly

Read More
Centaur Bar is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 164.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2016-10-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2016-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great food and drinks; thanks PJ!
Date published: 2016-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The server/bar tender made the Happy Hour experience to not forget
Date published: 2016-09-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from still waiting to hear back from management. I left a voice mail as when you call restaurant no one ever picks up. I was overcharged for our desserts. The quality was dry and very small. I speculate they ran out of the brownies and tried to make 2 desserts out of one brownie. I'll gladly change this review once my situation is resolved with a refund.
Date published: 2016-08-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Ordered brownie bites. They were literally 1" square! Cost $7. We got order to go. If I would have noticed the ridiculous small size, I would have sent it back. We ordered 2 to go. $15 for 10 bites that maybe equaled one real brownie. Dry and not even moist. I'd like management to refund my credit card. If so, I will not share my experience with others when we talk about where to go downtown. Very unhappy right now.
Date published: 2016-08-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2016-08-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2016-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The service and food were excellent. It was a great experience. The PEACH Bellini Martini is the best ever
Date published: 2016-05-29
  • y_2017, m_4, d_24, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_87, tr_77
  • loc_en_US, sid_21397, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_restaurantcom
Do you like this restaurant?

Centaur Bar Reviews

Loading
Back to Top
Have a question or want to order by phone? CALL US AT 855.832.8728 Monday thru Friday, 8:30am - 5pm CT or search our FAQ's