Close
Vango is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 115.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Food was average and small portions. $12 for a weak quesadilla with just tortilla and cheese
Date published: 2016-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Had the best seats for their roof top dining and the food was good along with the service.
Date published: 2016-09-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from We we were charged $10 cover to enter. Then we were told that the kitchen is closed. Another bartender then was able to get us appetizers only. Seating is only at the bar. Service for the second bartender is the only reason we rate this fair instead of poor.
Date published: 2016-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2016-03-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2016-03-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2016-03-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2016-02-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2015-12-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Food tasted great. Because we sat upstairs they wanted to keep our credit card to keep a tab!!!! No way we're we doing that. They automatically charge 20% gratuity because their servers are not paid anything not even minimum wage!!!!!
Date published: 2015-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice quiet romantic atmosphere---in the early evening. Décor, service, and food were great! Makes for a great date night if you want to enjoy some conversation in a swanky place---and can get there before it gets crowded.
Date published: 2015-12-09
  • y_2017, m_3, d_28, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_60, tr_55
  • loc_en_US, sid_32868, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_restaurantcom
Minimum purchase of $50 at restaurant. Not valid for alcohol.
Minimum purchase of $30 at restaurant. Not valid for alcohol.
Minimum purchase of $100 at restaurant. Not valid for alcohol.

Vango

116 S. 18th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone: (215) 568-1020
Cuisine: Continental, Japanese
Price: $$$$

Get Directions:


Start Address:
Please enter a starting address.
End Address:
Please enter an ending address.

Map:

  • Hours
    Monday: 5:00 PM - 2:00 AM
    Tuesday: 5:00 PM - 2:00 AM
    Wednesday: 5:00 PM - 2:00 AM
    Thursday: 5:00 PM - 2:00 AM
    Friday: 5:00 PM - 2:00 AM
    Saturday: 5:00 PM - 2:00 AM
    Sunday: 5:00 PM - 2:00 AM
    Kitchen Closed 30 Minutes Before Bar.
  • Amenities Nightly DJ, Wi-fi, Dancing, Private Party Room
  • Bar Bottle Service, Full Bar, Beer, Wines
  • Atmosphere Live Music, Scenic View, Bar Scene
  • Parking Availability Parking on Site
  • Attire Casual
  • Banquet Facilities 10 - 20 People, 20 - 50 People, 50 - 100 People, Over 100 People
  • Payment Methods Amex Cash Discover Mastercard Visa

Highlights

Two years ago, Dia Sawan started toying with the notion of a club like no other he'd ever seen.

The owner of Byblos along Philadelphia's formidable Rittenhouse Row whose family formed a dynasty of the area's best Mediterranean restaurants (Cedars, Fez) had already made his hookah lounge and restaurant a sensation before that trend commenced. Why not try to strike lightening twice. That's why two years later, there's Vango Lounge & Sky Bar at 116 S. 18th Street - the boldest of Philadelphia's restaurant lounges starring some of the best names in the food and DJ business. If the address seems familiar to Sawan watchers, it should: his intimate Byblos is below Vango at the same address. But from its massive oak doors and portal windows below to its dramatic roof deck view of the city above, no one will ever confuse the two. That's just the start. At somewhere around 8,000 square feet, Vango is as massive a space as it was an undertaking to get just the right custom made elements from around the world to fill the big rooms. "That's why it took so long," says Sawan. "Everything had to be unique. No. Everything is really and truly unique, personal even." Perhaps that's why Sawan decided to oversee the vision of Vango with help from several prominent designers.

Along the walls of its second floor walkup, there's over 200 carved out spaces into which is an illuminated vodka bottle. If that sounds strange, it's meant to. Says Sawan: "We put up the bottles. The vodka companies gave us the product." Smart. Smarter still is the crinkle-crushed-velvet along Vango's second-floor walls spectacularly speckled by a zillion inlaid lights. There's Nina Hazouri's plush custom-made and upholstered cushioned couches; set pieces tucked within private booths and below grand dramatic archways. "Everything is custom-made for Vango, says Sawan, pointing out even the littlest details.

Read More
Vango is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 115.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Food was average and small portions. $12 for a weak quesadilla with just tortilla and cheese
Date published: 2016-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Had the best seats for their roof top dining and the food was good along with the service.
Date published: 2016-09-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from We we were charged $10 cover to enter. Then we were told that the kitchen is closed. Another bartender then was able to get us appetizers only. Seating is only at the bar. Service for the second bartender is the only reason we rate this fair instead of poor.
Date published: 2016-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2016-03-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2016-03-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2016-03-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2016-02-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2015-12-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Food tasted great. Because we sat upstairs they wanted to keep our credit card to keep a tab!!!! No way we're we doing that. They automatically charge 20% gratuity because their servers are not paid anything not even minimum wage!!!!!
Date published: 2015-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice quiet romantic atmosphere---in the early evening. Décor, service, and food were great! Makes for a great date night if you want to enjoy some conversation in a swanky place---and can get there before it gets crowded.
Date published: 2015-12-09
  • y_2017, m_3, d_28, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_60, tr_55
  • loc_en_US, sid_32868, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_restaurantcom
Do you like this restaurant?

Vango Reviews

Loading
Back to Top
Have a question or want to order by phone? CALL US AT 855.832.8728 Monday thru Friday, 8:30am - 5pm CT or search our FAQ's